Terms conclude at the close of AAA meetings

2019-2022: Yolanda Covington-Ward (Umass Amherst)

2016-2018: Jennifer Coffman (James Madison University)

2012-2016: Anita Spring (University of Florida)

2010-2012: Mwenda Ntarangwi (Calvin College)

2008-2010: Maria G. Cattell (Field Museum of Natural History)

2004-2008: Bennetta Jules-Rosette (University of California, San Diego)

2002-2004: Gracia Clark (Indiana University)

2000-2002: Betty Harris (University of Oklahoma)

1998-2000: Parker Shipton (Boston University)

1996-1998: Sally Falk Moore (Harvard University)

1994-1996: George Bond (Columbia University)

1992-1994: Gwendolyn Mikell (Georgetown University)

NOTE: the AfAA officially became a section of the AAA in 2003.